FAQFAQ    Board RulesBoard Rules    SearchSearch    LotteryLottery    RouletteRoulette    UsergroupsUsergroups
     RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Shop    Log inLog in 
View posts since last visitView your postsView unanswered posts

Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia I Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:05 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Hello,

the mafia setup only recognizes the onboard Intel HD 4600 instead of my Geforce GTX 850M. Is there any way to force the setup to recognize my nVidia graphics card because otherwise it'll always run on the onboard Intel 4600.

Forcing it by the nVidia drivers didn't help.

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 802
Location: Sydenham SE26
276210 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Gebirgskuchen wrote:
Hello,

the mafia setup only recognizes the onboard Intel HD 4600 instead of my Geforce GTX 850M. Is there any way to force the setup to recognize my nVidia graphics card because otherwise it'll always run on the onboard Intel 4600.

Forcing it by the nVidia drivers didn't help.

Thanks in advance!


You need to disable the onboard graphics in the bios
so that your GTX 850M will be recognized. Refer to
your manufacturer instructions on how to do this.
You could try doing this in Device Manager.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mr Robville

Mafiascene Veteran Modder
Mafiascene Veteran Modder


Joined: 11 Sep 2006
Posts: 540
Location: Dutchland
255834 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 10:06 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

An easier way may be to open up the switchable graphics settings in Windows and assigning the Nvidia GPU to Mafia or Setup.exe.

As far as I know, the Intel GPU is required for core rendering tasks and is therefore essential to be turned on. Diving into the BIOS settings is usually last resort since it's rather easy to mess up your computer accidentally.

Here are some steps I once wrote for Ship Simulator players:

- Click on the Nvidia GPU activity icon in the bottom right corner of the menu bar. (You may need to unfold the item list in order to make it appear by clicking on the small arrow)
- Click on "Customize which programs use the GPU"
- A window will pop up. At the Program Settings, click on the rollout list with games within the first step
- If Mafia or setup.exe is included, change the GPU settings at the second step to "High performance NVIDIA processor" from the rollout list
- If those are not included within the games list, click on the ADD button next to the list and search for game.exe and setup.exe.
- Repeat step 4 after you've added the game

Hope it helps. Smile
_________________


            www.Robville.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 802
Location: Sydenham SE26
276210 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 10:21 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

actually Mr Robville makes a valid point

have to admit I am thinking as a PC (desktop)
user and not laptop as a Nvidia M card is
for laptops whereas and correct me if I am
wrong although there are mobos for desktops
with onboard graphcis once a card is installed
in the PCi 16.0 slot this automatically disables
the onboard graphics but would enable if the
dedicated card is uninstalled. Thinking
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 8:58 am    Post subject: Re: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Mr Robville wrote:
An easier way may be to open up the switchable graphics settings in Windows and assigning the Nvidia GPU to Mafia or Setup.exe.

As far as I know, the Intel GPU is required for core rendering tasks and is therefore essential to be turned on. Diving into the BIOS settings is usually last resort since it's rather easy to mess up your computer accidentally.

Here are some steps I once wrote for Ship Simulator players:

- Click on the Nvidia GPU activity icon in the bottom right corner of the menu bar. (You may need to unfold the item list in order to make it appear by clicking on the small arrow)
- Click on "Customize which programs use the GPU"
- A window will pop up. At the Program Settings, click on the rollout list with games within the first step
- If Mafia or setup.exe is included, change the GPU settings at the second step to "High performance NVIDIA processor" from the rollout list
- If those are not included within the games list, click on the ADD button next to the list and search for game.exe and setup.exe.
- Repeat step 4 after you've added the game

Hope it helps. Smile


TrieÍ have already tried, Game.exe and Setup.exe Still no success. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 802
Location: Sydenham SE26
276210 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:36 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Just a thought, you didn't say what o/s you
are using and whether as I said a laptop.

Also did you run setup.exe first to adjust
graphics, AA, sound/speakers etc.

Does the setup give you a list of cards
installed can you choose from the list
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:47 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

I'm running it on Win10. The Game itself runs fine due to a workaround. Yes, I am using a Laptop vom Asus GL550JK.
Yes, I ran setup.exe and there is no Option to choose between both graphic cards. I can only choose the Intel HD 4600.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 802
Location: Sydenham SE26
276210 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Gebirgskuchen wrote:
I'm running it on Win10. The Game itself runs fine due to a workaround. Yes, I am using a Laptop vom Asus GL550JK.
Yes, I ran setup.exe and there is no Option to choose between both graphic cards. I can only choose the Intel HD 4600.


Do other games recognize the GTX 850M?

silly question also, have you tried updating
the Nvidia GPU drivers.

What is the default GPU allotted on your laptop?
Can you change which GPU is the default in the
Nvidia settings?

Found this suggestion while browsing some forums
on changing which GPU games use:
Quote:
windows options (battery options) you can switch the laptop to have "high performance" profile while connected to the socket wall.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 6:31 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Yes, other Games actually do recognize the Geforce GTX 850m, and on some Games (Bully - Scholarship Edition) I can also force the game to run on the nVidia.

The GPU drivers (Intel and nVidia) are up to date.

"What is the default GPU allotted on your laptop?
Can you change which GPU is the default in the"

Don't know, how can I find this out?

The Laptop is running on high performance...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hunter

Member
Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 234

1560 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 7:45 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Never heard of being able to run two cards at once...I'll go with solution #1. Smirking
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 8:24 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Both graphic cards are sharing the Same Output = HDMI. Also disabeling the onboard graphics will lead to higher Temperatures in idle mode due to the nvidia card. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 802
Location: Sydenham SE26
276210 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 9:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Gebirgskuchen wrote:
Yes, other Games actually do recognize the Geforce GTX 850m, and on some Games (Bully - Scholarship Edition) I can also force the game to run on the nVidia.

"What is the default GPU allotted on your laptop?
Can you change which GPU is the default in the"

Don't know, how can I find this out?

The Laptop is running on high performance...


on your desktop right click and if there is
an Nvidia icon in the menu click on this.
then choose change 3D settings remember
to also click on that you want to do this manually
or however it is worded.





If have not done so you may have to add game.exe
to the programs list then highlight this and make the
necessary changes for that application - remember
to save any changes you make. Other than this I cannot
think of anything else to suggest. Just one last question
what make or manufacturer is your laptop - have you tried
looking in help forums for your particular laptop?

Gebirgskuchen wrote:
Both graphic cards are sharing the Same Output = HDMI. Also disabeling the onboard graphics will lead to higher Temperatures in idle mode due to the nvidia card. Sad


I may be wrong but I am sure even if you eventually can get
the Nvidia card to be the default - that in the power options
you can choose balanced so that it will run at lower temperatures
when idle but when demanding tasks have to run will up the
performance - also I am surprised that your laptop doesn't allow
for cooling when the Nvidia card is running - but then I have never
used a laptop so what do I know Laughing
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:41 am    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

Doesn't work.



Deactivating via device manager won't work: "The GeForce Experience and the GeForce driver requires an Intel graphics card to be present compulsorily because ultimately all the graphics processed in the graphics cards(regardless whether the Nvdia or the Intel graphics card) must go through the Intel graphics card to be displayed on the computer screen."

This problem is mostly present on notebooks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 802
Location: Sydenham SE26
276210 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 3:00 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

OK now as far as your Nvidia settings are
concerned is the Nvidia card your default
GPU?

I know you may or guess you have tried
uninstalling Mafia completely and then
reinstalling - check after rebooting before
doing this that nothing has changed in the
Nvidia settings that it hasn't reverted back
to the Intel card as default.

Do a complete clean install of Mafia
and once again add the game.exe to
programs run by the Nvidia card in
the Nvidia settings

Run the setup.exe again and see how that works

Now I know you said the Nvidia drivers were up
to date, but when did you last check - might not
hurt to do so; they change so quickly these days.

I notice you said that you have Geforce experience
installed, can I give you a bit of advice please.
uninstall both this, any Nvidia 3D vision; your notebook
will not have 3D I suspect. Geforce Experience is
overrated in my humble opinion. Also when updating
your GPU drivers don't use thirdparty software or the
inbuilt update on Nvidia settings but go directly to
the Nvidia website and choose the drivers from there
and download - install them as you would any program
and choose option to install which components you want
all you need are the graphics drivers and if your laptop
can handle this physX drivers anything else really is not
necessary. Other components you don't really need are
things like Nvidia backend and Nvidia update.. as I
said download update drivers direct.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gebirgskuchen

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2016
Posts: 7

17 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:10 pm    Post subject: Cannot force Mafia Setup to recognize my graphics card! Reply with quote

You don't want to know how often I reinstalled Mafia. Laughing

I did everything you asked for, still no success. I guess, in sometime I buy myself a oldschool PC, on which Mafia will run smootly without to much bugs. Smile

Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia I Help All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Generation Time: 0.028 | Queries: 19