FAQFAQ    Board RulesBoard Rules    SearchSearch    LotteryLottery    RouletteRoulette    UsergroupsUsergroups
     RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Shop    Log inLog in 
View posts since last visit View your posts View unanswered posts

Mafia WORKS on Windows 10!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia 1 Game
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sliderv2

Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 May 2014
Posts: 73

701 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:22 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Video says all. Sticking out tongue
1. Run "Setup.exe" as administrator in Mafia folder and turn off fullscreen mode.
2. Run the game as administrator.
3. That's all.



Last edited by Sliderv2 on Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:48 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 781
Location: Sydenham SE26
276186 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:25 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

I am not saying I don't believe you, but posting a video without
some information of how you got Mafia to run on Windows 10 is
not proof really. It would suffice further acknowledgement with
what settings are used in Windows 10.

1: Is there a compatibility option in Windows 10?

2: Do people need to run the game as an administrator as in Windows 7?

3: Is there any kind of patch used or anything so that older games from
Windows 95 upwards can be played on Windows 10?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sliderv2

Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 May 2014
Posts: 73

701 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:44 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

1: There are compatibility options, but I don't used them.

2: Yes.

3: Nope.

Btw, thanks for reply, I wrote "how to run" into video description.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frantula

New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Location: Slovakia
0 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 4:17 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Hello guys. I have updated to Windows 10 and Mafia 1 really works, but only in window mode. If I try to run it in fullscreen mode, it runs in window again and it doesn't matter what resolution I select. Do you know how can I play it in fullscreen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sliderv2

Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 May 2014
Posts: 73

701 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:35 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Use app called "Borderless Gaming".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frantula

New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Location: Slovakia
0 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 7:09 am    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

THANK YOU!! It works! You saved my life Very happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hunter

Member
Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 218

1533 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:21 am    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Good for Windows 10. Who would have thought it could be used to play a game?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sliderv2

Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 May 2014
Posts: 73

701 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:03 am    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

W10 is great for gaming. I get higher fps and less fps drops in games. For example GTA V and Dying Light runs better, btw GTA San Andreas also works on W10, Applause but GTA IV don't work, but that's crappy port.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markjonson

New Member
New Member


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Location: United States
2 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:50 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Its good news for all game lovers too that mafia runs on windows 10. I love to see its trailer and the graphic work done by experts.
_________________

Technology News | Seoexpertsindia.com Review
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
huckleberrypie

Member
Member


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 130

261 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:04 am    Post subject: Re: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Sliderv2 wrote:
W10 is great for gaming. I get higher fps and less fps drops in games. For example GTA V and Dying Light runs better, btw GTA San Andreas also works on W10, Applause but GTA IV don't work, but that's crappy port.


Strange, I was able to get GTA IV to work, but not GTA V out of the box, as it was having trouble with loading assets unless if I force the process priority to high and lock the framerate to 30fps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LegalEagle

New Member
New Member


Joined: 23 Aug 2015
Posts: 5

13 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:37 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Hi, I saw this thread just now while I was searching for help because my boxed copy of Mafia doesn't seem to work at all no matter what I do.
I have no idea why, but whether I run it as administrator with or without the compatibility options or turn off fullscreen mode in the setup file, I just can't seem to get it to work! Whenever I run game.exe, it does nothing. It doesn't open at all. All I get is a little loading wheel above my cursor and then a notification that asks me if the program worked, which it didn't. I'm trying to run this game on Windows 10 and I'm very bummed that I can't play it because I just bought it!
Any help at all would be appreciated! Thanks!

Edit: Moved to Help section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ladislav89

New Member
New Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2015
Posts: 1

2 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

LegalEagle wrote:
Hi, I saw this thread just now while I was searching for help because my boxed copy of Mafia doesn't seem to work at all no matter what I do.
I have no idea why, but whether I run it as administrator with or without the compatibility options or turn off fullscreen mode in the setup file, I just can't seem to get it to work! Whenever I run game.exe, it does nothing. It doesn't open at all. All I get is a little loading wheel above my cursor and then a notification that asks me if the program worked, which it didn't. I'm trying to run this game on Windows 10 and I'm very bummed that I can't play it because I just bought it!
Any help at all would be appreciated! Thanks!

Edit: Moved to Help section.


Hi, I had the same problem. But then I found a solution. Turn out the antialasing. I don`t know why but after that it works. However doesn`t mather if I put full screen or window mod it`s stay in a window. I tried the Borderless aplication but doesn`t works....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Robville

Mafiascene Veteran Modder
Mafiascene Veteran Modder


Joined: 11 Sep 2006
Posts: 537
Location: Dutchland
255728 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

Sliderv2 wrote:
Use app called "Borderless Gaming".


Do you know if it's possible to automatically apply this app at startup?
Even if I assign Mafia to the favourites, it always opens windowed, and I have to press alt+tab twice to get out and into the game before the effect is applied.
_________________


www.Robville.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Danny_Ocean

New Member
New Member


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 1

2 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:37 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

My Windows 10 Taskbar disturbs me while playing Mafia 1.
Does anyone know a solution for this?
I really like this game but Windows 10 makes this unplayable... Crying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sliderv2

Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 22 May 2014
Posts: 73

701 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:36 pm    Post subject: Mafia WORKS on Windows 10! Reply with quote

I've found solution to run Mafia in fullscreen without Borderless Gaming:
http://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Mafia:_The_City_of_Lost_Heaven#No_fullscreen_mode_on_Windows_10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia 1 Game All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Generation Time: 0.038 | Queries: 19