FAQFAQ    Board RulesBoard Rules    SearchSearch    LotteryLottery    RouletteRoulette    UsergroupsUsergroups
     RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Shop    Log inLog in 
View posts since last visit View your posts View unanswered posts

Changing camera distance, some missions not changing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Ask a Modder - Modding
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TizerisT

New Member
New Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 13

35 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:02 pm    Post subject: Changing camera distance, some missions not changing Reply with quote

Hi, I've just been using BScriptViewto go through the missions and change the camera distance in each scene2.bin by inputting the text camera_setfov 86.07 at the bottom of each notepad thing on the right hand side, but most of the missions have not changed. For example I have 3 scene2.bins in three folders for mission 19, but in-game only one of the chapters has correctly been modified, out of about 7 chapters for that mission.
Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ASM.

Mafiascene Veteran Modder
Mafiascene Veteran Modder


Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 207

445 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 11:36 pm    Post subject: Changing camera distance, some missions not changing Reply with quote

Your post reads like you added the camera_setfov 86.07 command to every script in each of the missions. While this might work, this is generally not the way to go; you should add a custom script object to the missions instead. However I'm not sure whether this works properly when you return to a mission, though (like what happens after Reconnaissance where you return from mise19-banka to mise19-mesto) as I could imagine that the savegames that are created along the way mark your script as 'done'. Thinking

If you just want to play the mission with higher FOV, you could use Mafia Patcher in conjunction with a script that changes the FOV. See the ThunderboltCheatReplacementScriptPath option in Patcher.cfg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TizerisT

New Member
New Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 13

35 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:48 pm    Post subject: Changing camera distance, some missions not changing Reply with quote

Ok. I downloaded that and read the readme. I don't know how to go about making a script though. I have one other mod that changes the camera in every mission, but the fov is too far. Do you think I could simply edit that mod?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ASM.

Mafiascene Veteran Modder
Mafiascene Veteran Modder


Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 207

445 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:40 pm    Post subject: Changing camera distance, some missions not changing Reply with quote

Here's a small script that lets you toggle between 70 and 90 FOV by pressing the primary speed limiter key. To use it with Mafia Patcher, create a file named script.sc with the script in your Mafia installation directory and uncomment the DisableThunderboltCheatScriptMissionCheck and ThunderboltCheatReplacementScriptPath options in Patcher.cfg.

Code:

dim_flt 3

mse_debug_text "fov.sc started."

let flt[1] = 0

label check_key
commandblock 1

ctrl_read 0, SPEEDLIMIT1
if flt[0] = 1, dump_fov, -1

ctrl_read 0, SPEEDLIMIT
if flt[0] = 1, toggle_fov, -1

commandblock 0
goto check_key

label dump_fov
commandblock 0
camera_getfov 0
mse_debug_text "Current camera fov: "
mse_debug_flt flt[0]
goto check_key

label toggle_fov
commandblock 0
let flt[1] = 1.0 - flt[1]
let flt[2] = flt[1] * 20.0
let flt[0] = 70.0 + flt[2]
camera_setfov flt[0]
mse_debug_text "New camera fov: "
mse_debug_flt flt[0]
goto check_key


TizerisT wrote:

I have one other mod that changes the camera in every mission, but the fov is too far.

Does said mod happen to be UDD? Hunter also recently complained about that mod's FOV settings. Laughing

TizerisT wrote:

Do you think I could simply edit that mod?

That should work, too but I guess using Mafia Patcher is way less cumbersome as you don't have to touch every mission this way. The script is executed for every mission, even when you load a savegame (assuming you've configured Mafia Patcher as outlined above).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hunter

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2013
Posts: 336

2219 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:45 pm    Post subject: Changing camera distance, some missions not changing Reply with quote

Did someone say Hunter? Sticking out tongue

Different scene2.bins have different default FOVs (referred to as Camera distance in DC||ED). It's unclear to me how these numbers were chosen or why you would want the camera to vary by mission, maybe something to do with weather or whatever, apart from that you would probably want a change on a foot scene2 from a driving scene2. I also don't know if there are several fixed numbers (the common one I've seen is "1.6" from DC||ED) or if they just vary; I haven't spent time on it to find out.

/pointlesscomment
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Ask a Modder - Modding All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Generation Time: 0.368 | Queries: 18