FAQFAQ    Board RulesBoard Rules    SearchSearch    LotteryLottery    RouletteRoulette    UsergroupsUsergroups
     RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Shop    Log inLog in 
View posts since last visitView your postsView unanswered posts

MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia Mods
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AMadeMan

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 335
Location: United States
437 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:59 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

YOOO this is awesome! Great work man! Applause
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 7:13 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Good to see you hyped, but please note that all the work with the map shown in the pictures, in the update was done by Greavesy, you should praise HIM. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AMadeMan

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 335
Location: United States
437 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:07 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

With enough dedication and love, we could end up starting a Mafia 2 remake project from these new modding capabilities as well as the new toolkit being made by Greavesy. Soon, so much will be able to be added to this game like Mafia 1, something I remember not even being remotely possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:28 am    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Greavesy has been working on reversing collision data very hard. As a test he converted a part from the GTA SA map and made collisions for it. It is still buggy, but there's certainly some progress!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AMadeMan

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 335
Location: United States
437 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:00 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Awesome work on the collisions Greavesy! Now if only we could modify those outdated textures, because when it came to Mafia 2 the first thing that I knew was looking aged was the textures and shaders.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:31 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Collisions for the countryside map from Mafia 1



This has been achieved with Zmodeler 3 by Oleg.

This year is very interesting as far as Mafia 2 is concerned, I have to say.

Agens is working on the convert of the map. If you can make alpha textures and textures for games in general or if you can convert textures into the DDS format and you want to help and thus have the mod released earlier, write to him under the video in the comment section. You would be doing agens and the whole community waiting patiently for the mod a big favor!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AMadeMan

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 335
Location: United States
437 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:20 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Nice vid man! Also, I checked the discord, and it seems that collisions are now making good progress. APEX physics in the modding tool kit will also be able to be modified.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:51 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

The first map mod

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AMadeMan

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 335
Location: United States
437 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:49 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

bloody awesome! The stairs inside interiors even collide with the player!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linukkis

Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Posts: 536
Location: Lithuania
1294 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:55 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Holy cow, I can't believe what I'm seeing... This is amazing! My jaw literally dropped Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duelist

Member
Member


Joined: 06 Nov 2016
Posts: 129
Location: Poland
264 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:34 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

I'm not into Mafia 2, but I wonder how are interiors handled in there? Is it the same as in Mafia 1 - sector + portals?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:48 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

So I have some new information about the map conversion that agens is doing. Unfortunately that is no good news.

Agens started converting the city of Lost Heaven into M2. But the map is too big for a modding unfriendly game such as Mafia 2. The game simply can't handle the massive amount of textures of the city and as a result the map model breaks. The map works properly only when the amount of textures within a SDS that is loaded, doesn't exceed the given limit of textures.

So what is needed?
The map needs to be devided into parts with their own AREA.

What is an AREA?
An AREA is an invisible box. When the player is located within boundaries of the box (in the box, in the AREA), a SDS (= a package of a part of a map), to which the AREA is assigned, is loaded.

This is how it probably looks like:



AREAS from Joe's Adventures


Agens seems to have managed to create a new AREA and he seems to be able to move the AREA as needed. But the problem is that that he can't register newly created AREAs and as a result the game doesn't read his AREAs. It is unknown where the data about AREAs is. Something related to AREAs has been found in StreamMapa.bin, but editing it and trying to register a new AREA there has no effect.

Somebody is needed to help to find the way to do it (to register a new AREA). If you feel you can do that, please help.

Here are some screens, notice the missing textures (the black models)











Duelist: The game has AREAs, described above, they work for interiors too. An AREA of a part of a map can be loaded at the same time with an AREA of a shop, provided that the shop is defined to be assigned to an AREA that handles interiors. Normally only one AREA can be loaded at a time. AREAs for shops seem to be an exception - they load even if there is already a loaded AREA of a city. An AREA of a part of a city and an AREA of a shop (only one) can be loaded at the same time. Two AREAs of a part of a city can't be loaded at the same time. At least that is the way I get it. Here is a video that shows that in action: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXcr9jGuuv0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:27 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

With the AREA editor, which we already have, agens managed to make new AREAs and split LH into parts.

Zmodeler reads AREAs and can display them. This is how it looks:


Also Zmodeler has been updated with the ability to add original trees from M2.
Unfortunately the issue with the textures seems to be still present.

Video from agens showing his progress:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AMadeMan

Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23 May 2017
Posts: 335
Location: United States
437 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:15 pm    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

Love the work so far!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T3mas1

Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Location: Czech Republic
373 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:49 am    Post subject: MAFIA 2 - a way to import modded objects into the scene Reply with quote

In case I forgot to mention, Zmodeler supports importing models from city_crash.sds, which means that it is possible to add details to new maps such as trees. Hopefully, we will get more of these updates for Zmodeler 3.



The new update of Zmodeler brought also the ability to assign a model for reflection, which can, however, cause the game to lag if the reflection model has too many polygons (=is too detailed). Bare that in mind when installing the mod. The new version of the countryside includes a winter variation now.

The new version of the countryside, made by agens, can be downloaded from here: http://www.playground.ru/files/mafia_2_karta_selskoj_mestnosti_iz_mafia_1_v_1_1-182580/

Moreover, agens is now implementing new gas stations around the map using translocators.





Generally speaking about ways to import modded objects into the scene, a group of modders called NOMAD group is building a new multiplayer mode for Mafia 2, called "M2+", which shall include the ability to spawn objects loaded from city_crash.sds and place them around the map.



Moreover, Greavesy is working on a new "Mafia World Editor" for Mafia 2. The editor is something similar to the codewalker. It is still very WIP though.

https://gyazo.com/5721a412043a015450777ebb97f5f343




The aim of this thread is to bring new people to modding Mafia 2.
That being said, feel free to join these DISCORD servers:

Toolkit: https://discord.gg/SSQB97U
NOMAD group: https://discord.gg/jfMWKp4

Also notice that Zmodeler 3 supports map importing into Mafia 2 now for all users. Tutorials on how to do it have been written and can be seen here:

Mafia II: Map editing guide: http://forum.zmodeler3.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=11343&sid=9506fc3636b2ca3d115ed029233423e3

Mafia II trees and instanced copies: http://forum.zmodeler3.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=11388&sid=9506fc3636b2ca3d115ed029233423e3

Mafia II Console utility: http://forum.zmodeler3.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=11387&sid=9506fc3636b2ca3d115ed029233423e3

Also somebody who can reverse traffic files is needed. If you think that you can do that, join the DISCORD servers above.

Last edited by T3mas1 on Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:27 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia Mods All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Generation Time: 0.040 | Queries: 18