FAQFAQ    Board RulesBoard Rules    SearchSearch    LotteryLottery    RouletteRoulette    UsergroupsUsergroups
     RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Shop    Log inLog in 
View posts since last visit View your posts View unanswered posts

Setup.exe co-joined?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia I Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 795
Location: Sydenham SE26
276202 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:51 am    Post subject: Setup.exe co-joined? Reply with quote

OK here is my issue. I have Mafia CoLH installed
twice - The usual install from the iso's using the
traditional method - and a manual install as done
from my topic on Manual Install

Both installations are in
(SSD) C:\Program Files(86)\Mafia (standard installation)
(Hybrid Drive) D:\Mafia (manual installation)

Now the problem I have is the setup.exe the one
that enables you to make changes to the graphics
resolution, sound etc.

Each installation of the game has its own setup.exe
but if I say change the res to either 1920 x 1080 or
2560 x 1440 or any other change i.e. AA etc. in one
of them it also changes in the setup.exe for the other
installed game; this applies whatever setup is used. Impossible

Is there a way to keep these separate so they do
not sync with one another? Praying
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
huckleberrypie

Member
Member


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 141

286 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:47 pm    Post subject: Setup.exe co-joined? Reply with quote

Well they share the same registry entries and other such variables, so it isn't surprising for the two installations to conflict with one another. You can try encapsulating an installation with some portable app utility like VMWare ThinApp or Cameyo though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muggy

Site Staff
Site Staff


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 795
Location: Sydenham SE26
276202 Bank Notes
Items
more...

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Setup.exe co-joined? Reply with quote

huckleberrypie wrote:
Well they share the same registry entries and other such variables, so it isn't surprising for the two installations to conflict with one another. You can try encapsulating an installation with some portable app utility like VMWare ThinApp or Cameyo though.


Actually I don't quite get how the manual installed of
Mafia would show in the registry as I use the drag
and drop files into a folder so it is not in the registry
this also applies to the setup.exe - the only
installation that is in the registry would be the proper
standard installation.. This is why I am perplexed
why both actions of setup.exe are NOT separate.

And NO I will not use VM... ThinApp or Cameyo I don't think so!
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ASM.

Mafiascene Veteran Modder
Mafiascene Veteran Modder


Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 102

235 Bank Notes
Items

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:20 pm    Post subject: Setup.exe co-joined? Reply with quote

Quote:

Actually I don't quite get how the manual installed of
Mafia would show in the registry as I use the drag
and drop files into a folder so it is not in the registry
this also applies to the setup.exe - the only
installation that is in the registry would be the proper
standard installation.. This is why I am perplexed
why both actions of setup.exe are NOT separate.

The settings are stored in a fixed registry path, namely
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Illusion Softworks\Mafia (Win32) OR
HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Illusion Softworks\Mafia (Win64)

Regarding your problem, what could work is to exploit path virtualization provided by modern Windows versions (i.e. Vista+). Neither Game.exe nor Setup.exe contain an application manifest so Windows redirects writes to certain filesystem/registry paths (such as C:\Program Files or HKLM) to a virtual store if executed as users who don't have write access to these locations.

What you could do is to rename the Setup.exe of one of your installations to something else, like Setu_.exe. This prevents UAC from chiming in when you run the setup which in turn allows you to run it as non-elevated process. Since setup writes to HKLM, Windows' path virtualization should kick in and redirect the writes to your virtual store. Now if you launch Game.exe as non-elevated process, it should read the settings from there.

For the other installation simply make sure to run both Setup.exe and Game.exe as elevated processes (i.e. right-click and hit Run as Administrator). This should disable path virtualization and both programs should access the actual settings value in HKLM.

I haven't tested it but this should allow you to store two versions of the settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mafiascene.com Forum Index -> Mafia I Help All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Generation Time: 0.021 | Queries: 19